Posted by: riles46 | April 6, 2011

Feeling Good

I didn’t mention this in my post yesterday, but it was hot yesterday.  My heartrate kept oscillating between 185 and 190 and at I don’t think ever got below 182.  Despite the heat I managed to do six miles in under 45 minutes (which I was very happy about)

Today I did a lighter run, around five miles, in the afternoon and then swam an hour in the evening.  I really feel like my swimming is starting to improve and am  much more comfortable in the water now.  I’ve started incorporating more drills into my swim workouts to continue to improve my technique and speed.  The one that I find most interesting is a drill where you swim with closed fists.  You really have to work to pull yourself through the water and it shows you how much you rely on the surface area of your palms to pull yourself along.

In keeping with the spirit of my last post, here are a couple more videos that motivate me/get me pumped up before my workouts….from the greatest movie(s) ever.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

